Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review & Unboxing – February 2016 !!

Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review – February 2016

Hello All,

Tokyo Treat needs no introduction on I Am Girly Blog. You can read my previous reviews here.

Tokyo Treat founded by Ayumi is a Japan (Tokyo) based company that sends subscription boxes of varying sizes, full of Japanese sweets to your door every month for a fee. They offer free worldwide shipping which is cool. You can follow them on social media (links at the end of this post) to check out contests and monthly contents of the box. Shall we move to the unboxing of Tokyo Treat February 2016 !

Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review – February 2016

There are three boxes to choose from: Small, (5-7 candies and snacks) for $14.99; Regular (8-12 candies and snacks, including one DIY kit), for $24.99; and Premium (13-17 candies and snacks, including a DIY kit, a drink, and one special item) for $34.99.

I received the Premium box for March 2016. I thought it will take a long time to get here all the way from Tokyo, but it arrived in two weekstime!

Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review – February 2016

Variety is something that I love in Tokyo Treat. The box was full till the brim with no wasted space. A lot of products ranging from crispy snacks, toys, candies,  gummies, to cookies and even cotton candy was included this month. It seems that we are getting more than our moneys worth here.

The little pamphlet detailing each and every product with information about Japanese Culture in English was helpful.

Nagewa Mentai Mayo Flavour: Mentaiko means marinated pollock or cod. Basically fish. I am a vegeterian and was not brave enough to try these. I gave it to a friend. The flavour is limited edition but seems reminiscent of a Japanese cuisine that is a pasta dish with mayonnaise or butter sauce. They resemble potato chip rings.

Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review – February 2016

Dontaco’s Chili Taco Flavoured Chips: A taco is a Mexican dish with corn or wheat tortilla folded or rolled around some filling. These chips really do taste like tacos! Less cheese and more taco seasoning. These are spicy fun chips.

Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review – February 2016

Grain Gummy: These are jelly beans with a twist in texture. The inside is so soft and chewy like a gummy but the outer shell is harder. Yummy !!?

Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review – February 2016 Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review – February 2016

Collis Strange Gum: These are filled with three flavours (Lemon, Strawberry, and Blueberry) that change into grape flavour as you chew it!

Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review – February 2016

String Candy: These are long ropes of grape and muscat flavoured candy. You can tie, braid, tangle, and play with like a clay dough before you eat it. These twists together to make fun shapes. Tasted awesome.

Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review – February 2016

Kracie’s Mr Fun Bakery: This DIY kit is from Kracie’s popular Popin’ Cookin’ series. Proceed by mixing candy powder with water to make strawberry and vanilla filling. Then this filling can be used in an ice tray/piping bag to fill and decorate wafer pieces to make ice cream cones, cookies or cakes. Even sprinkles are included. They were fab to make and  tasted decent too.

Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review – February 2016

Fujiya Peko Poco Chocolate: These characters are so cute!  I am new to these. These are made of milk chocolate. Me and my sister had one each. Delicious !! Pure bliss for lollipop lovers like us. I am not familiar with the characters in the pop.

Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review – February 2016

LOOK Chocolate: LOOK Chocolate have both strawberry cream filling and strawberry jam ! One of the best chocolates ever !! This is a chocolate covered strawberry treat.

Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review – February 2016

Princess’s Lost Treasure: This is another soft cookie filled with strawberry jam. You can call it a double berry cookie crisp.

Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review – February 2016

Lotte Koume Soft Candy: These soft chews are umeboshi flavour. Umeboshi means pickled plum and they are very sour. These tasted good like soft plum chews.

Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review – February 2016

Kiki and Lola Strawberry Crunch:
These are twin flavoured rice krispie treats. The grains of the rice are small and hard. It’s crunchy cum strawberry flavoured. It is a puffed bar.

Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review – February 2016

Heart Pocky:  Hearts shaped fun pocky! I like the strawberry coating on these. I sooo LOVE Pocky!!!! This seems like Valentine’s special ! I have never tried before and it was heavenly.

Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review – February 2016

Good Luck Chopsticks:  Everyone received a set of bamboo chopsticks with a love fortune this month as an addon. In the premium box you always get a special item in your box which is not an edible treat. Last month, there was a collectible toy. This month was chopsticks with a fortune inside. I couldn’t read and understand mine.

Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review – February 2016

Sweet Red Bean Soup: This is a red bean soup in a can. You have to pour this into a vessel and warm it. I am giving it to my dad. He liked this Japanese drink.

Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review – February 2016

Cream Collon: Collon is my all time favourite snacks! Made by Glico, the master brains behind Pocky.  It is a cookie filled with with cream. Very tasty and addictive. You will crave for more.

Tokyo Treat Japanese Candy Box Review – February 2016

Price: $34.99

Value for Money:  I do not have know the price of these Japanese treats but for $35 I honestly feel like there is so much stuff in this box. Tokyo Treat offered 14 items, and then two BONUS items this month! Yesss, 16 items in total. One DIY Kit and one drink. The cute pair of fortune chopsticks was this months special item!

Verdict: I am super happy and excited about this box. There were so many treats in this box that I really loved. If you really want to try candies and fun treats from another country, please subscribe to Tokyo Treat here.

Tokyo Treat delivered a box of snacks I’ve never found in India. Everything in this box is damn cute and tasty.

** PR Sample